FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - St. Lawrence NYSARC (, a private, non-profit organization committed to maximizing the potential of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, recently held their Annual Dinner at SUNY Potsdam’s Barrington Student Union.  Staff members, program participants, volunteers, and employees were recognized for their achievements during the past year. 


The St. Lawrence NYSARC Staff Member of the Year is Robert Voss, a valued member of the team at the Norwood day site.  His commitment to advocating for people with disabilities is among the many reasons he was honored. Mr. Voss was also selected for his loyalty, helpful attitude, and reliability.  Lowell Groulx received the Seaway Industries Employee of the Year Award.  He has almost 40 years on the job at the Ogdensburg Seaway Industries. Mr. Groulx was recognized for his motivation and always giving his best to get the job done right.


As an Agency first, St. Lawrence NYSARC awarded two people with the prestigious Community Spirit Award.  Dr. Charles Robinson, Director, Center for Rehabilitation Engineering, Science and Technology and Herman L. Shulman Chair Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Clarkson University, was honored for revolutionizing the container redemption business at Seaway Industries.  He and his students created a 3-hole, intake table that greatly improves the flow of recyclables, while reducing the number of sorts needed. Dr. Robinson stated that his team very much enjoyed working with the staff and hard-working employees at SLNYSARC’s Massena work site.


Steven William Sauter was the other recipient of The Community Spirit Award. Mr. Sauter advocates and embodies quality community interaction that inspires inclusion for all people. He is involved in the community, participates successfully in many programs where he demonstrates the abilities and spirit of a person with a disability. Mr. Sauter works as the Operations Assistant at the St. Lawrence County Arts Council, volunteers with the Canton Village Historian's office, and is part of the local community theater group.


Assemblywoman Addie Russell’s Communications Coordinator, Ryne Martin, spoke at the dinner.  He shared thoughts on the Assemblywoman’s behalf, "Those honored are an inspiration and a reminder for us to celebrate our unique abilities. The efforts of the award winners - and the work of the other finalists - deserve our gratitude," said Assemblywoman Russell.


Board Members and Administration also recognized staff members celebrating an anniversary for years of service.  The following staff members were acknowledged for five years of service: Travis Caswell, Jade Chase, Amanda Christman, Stormy Collett, Shelly Dufrene, Michelle Gaebel, Crystal Green, Laurie Greenwood, Jane Hewlett, Jannell Hoyt, Amelia Jarboe, Marie-Christine Mattioli, Brooke Moffitt, and Christopher Tulga.  


In honor of ten years of service, the following people were recognized: Angela Aldridge, Cindy Anderson, Judy Baderman, William Briggs, Stacy Cole, Lacey Cowles, Brooke Farr, Lena Gilbert, Stacey Hartigan, Cindy Hollinger, Lynn Jarvis, Helen June, Audrie Miller, Hyacinth Saburro, Jennifer Stone, and Ann Stratton.


In honor of 15 years of service, the Agency acknowledged: Michael Borrelli, Casey Breault, Juanita Burns, Christina Cook, Julie Dashno, Brian Hicks, Lisa Ladue, Joseph Montgomery,

Christopher Peets, Cory Peterson, Brenda Rich, Wanda Robidoux, Mandy Simser, Kathleen Snowman, and Lori Wickham.        


The following staff members were recognized for 20 years of service: Julia Blackmer, Paula Douglas, Nichole Garrow, Anne Horan, Robin Hoyt, Sandra Labow, Janet Lawton, Kevin Marsh, Kitty McAdam, Jennifer Vincent-Barwood.              


St. Lawrence NYSARC also honored several staff members for 25 years of service, including: Carrie Bryant and Robert Keyser. 


Russel Backus, Laurie Blais, Tina Brown, Josephine Clary, Terrance Clary, Janet Dyke, Rebecca Farr, Susan Farrell, Roxanna O'Donnell, John Perme, Patricia Potocar, and Mary Ann Tischler were recognized for their commitment of 30 years to the Agency.


During the past year David Brassbridge, May Clark, Rebecca Cole, Richard Fitzgerald, and Sherri Love reached the milestone achievement of 35 years of dedicated service to St. Lawrence NYSARC.       


“The Annual Dinner is a tradition that means so much to our staff and the individuals we support. It gives us a chance to applaud their successes,” said St. Lawrence NYSARC CEO/Executive Director Daphne A. Pickert. “The work accomplished by and for people with developmental disabilities at St. Lawrence NYSARC is second to none and we are proud to acknowledge their dedication.”


To learn more about St. Lawrence NYSARC, its programs and volunteer opportunities, call 315-386-3529, go online to or find us on Facebook.


# # #

In photo from left to right: Lowell Groulx, St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Employee of the Year and Shelly Jameson, Seaway Industries Director.


In photo from left to right: Robert Voss, St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Staff Member of the Year and Ryne Martin, Assemblywoman Addie Russell’s Communications Coordinator.


In photo from left to right: Daphne Pickert St. Lawrence NYSARC’s CEO, Steven William Sauter, SLNYSARC Community Spirit Award recipient, and Michelle Quinell-Gayle, SLNYSARC’s Assistant Executive Director of Community Relations.


In photo from left to right: Ryne Martin, Assemblywoman Addie Russell’s Communications Coordinator and Dr. Charles Robinson of Clarkson University, SLNYSARC Community Spirit Award recipient.


About St. Lawrence NYSARC:

St. Lawrence NYSARC exists as a non-profit membership association dedicated to full inclusion and integration for persons with intellectual and other developmental disabilities within our communities. The Agency’s mission is to offer individuals and their families an opportunity to achieve self-determined goals and provide life-long learning opportunities.


Contact: Michelle Quinell-Gayle

Assistant Executive Director of Community Relations

St. Lawrence NYSARC